Tadaaaa….. Alexander Ray Collier

I’ll start out by answering the one question that I’ve received the most – It was harder than any race! Yep! Take all of the pain from Tour Divide (you know, the month of riding at high elevations with swollen limbs, anemia, dehydration etc.) and give it all to me in a matter of 11 hours! That was childbirth. But, I now have this beautiful kid to show for it and he is a Ray of sunshine!

1 Week (above) by Mallory Cremin Photography – http://www.photographyinidyllwild.com

I won’t get into all the details of labor, but on my due date, my water broke here in Idyllwild (after a day of shopping) and Brendan  drove us down to the hospital, which was just over an hour away. Active labor didn’t start, even though we tried walking around and stretching and hip rocking for about 6 hours. At that point, we had to induce. The train built speed until 11 hours later (including 45 minutes of pushing) I had Alex on my chest crying and being wiped off by Brendan and the nurses.

Labor was very difficult and at times, I felt that he would never come, but when I had him on my chest, it was the most beautiful thing I’ve ever experienced. Brendan coached me through it, and we were as prepared as we could be. As with racing though, you can’t know or appreciate how difficult it is until you go through it. Alexander was born at 1:15 p.m. February 3rd and weighed 8lbs 2.5oz and was 19.25″ long.

That Wednesday, we brought OUR SON home from the hospital and our lives will never be the same. To steal Brendan’s words, why didn’t we do this a long time ago!? Alexander is such a wonderful addition to our lives. He is discovering his hands this week and if it weren’t for all the diapers, laundry and feedings, I could sit and stare at him for 12 hours of the day. This time is flying, but I am fortunate to be able to stay home for a little while with him. He will be 3 weeks old tomorrow and is eating and sleeping well and gaining weight. He already has so much personality! I am excited to show him the world and am sure that he will show us a thing or two.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Awesome… so happy for you guys! can’t wait to meet him in the flesh!

    Like

  2. Kermit says:

    Congratulations!

    Like

  3. bwakeling says:

    Congratulations!! My wife is due in April…a nail-biting time!

    Like

  4. Maria Rose says:

    Again, I am so happy for you!

    Like

  5. Ali says:

    Adorable! Congratulations… really? Tougher than the toughest of races? 🙂

    Like

    1. marymetcalf says:

      Ali- Definitely more painful than the toughest of races – I’m sure it would have been a little less so if I’d opted for a little morphine 😉 Perhaps easier to endure though, since I knew the end was in sight and reward sooo worth it!

      Like

  6. Melissa says:

    Congrats! I am so happy for you all. What a beautiful baby!

    Like

  7. Congratulations from all of us at Nova Cycles.
    Alexander is beautiful!!!!

    Like

  8. Carol says:

    Congratulation Mary and Brendan! I had no idea he was even on the way. You just trun around and suddenly there’s a third member of your family. I am so happy for you both. very best wishes, from Carbondale, IL

    Like

  9. Christina Stailey says:

    Congratulations Mary and Brenden! I’m so happy for you! What a sweet little guy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

