Time flies when you’re havin’ fun. ♥

It’s been over a month since I had a blog entry, but life has, in no way, been boring! Here’s a quick run-down of the past month, and if you can hang on till the end, my adventures have taken a turn. 🙂

The Julian Death March was April 18th. Gordon came out from San Diego for support and I rode with my Idyllwild guys, Doug and Ian, and had a blast. It was a bit harder this year with the addition of the Oriflame climb, but just as beautiful!

IMG_0315

The following week I got my eyes checked and the doc asked me… “how have you been driving?” Evidently I was pretty badly nearsighted but you don’t know it until you see how things are supposed to look. I “scored” these faux carbon fiber spectacles and I can really see further ahead on the trail!

IMG_0321

Then, I headed out to the Whiskey Offroad in Prescott to meet up with some Tucson and St. George friends. IMG_0325sI camped with the Siren crew and made a long weekend of it. Prescott wasn’t about being competitive, it was about hanging out with the guys. Sarah K., Lynda, and Johanna all rocked it in the women’s field, though.

Post event ride with Brendan, Craig and Dan… always fun, and entertaining!IMG_0381

381s

IMG_0403s

Then, a week and a half ago, Brendan came out and we volunteered for the local xc race (mostly because we’d both get chewed up and spit out if we tried to race it) and swept the long course. It was good to see a lot of the girls and fun to ride – again – with no pressure to go fast.

IMG_0417

IMG_0418

Lastly, this past weekend was another marathon driving weekend back to Tucson.

IMG_0436As Summer rolls around, the ghia prefers to drive at night. A black air-cooled vw just isn’t fun in 105 degree temps.

While in Tucson, we went and checked out the Kitts Peak Observatory in preparation for an evening of Star Trek. \\//

IMG_0452

IMG_0464

IMG_0447s

IMG_0453

IMG_0461

So, my upcoming adventures… well, they’ve taken a turn! As far as the divide goes, if I’m going to go back out there, I want it to be because I’m ready to do something amazing! I don’t think I’m ready to do that so I have decided to put the divide on the back burner for a year. I’ve got other fish to fry for now, but TD truly does get under your skin and I hope to be able to take another stab at it.

As I’ve always said, big changes provide a new wave to surf and I’m excited. Intense has been great to me, but I’m talking to a good friend about making me a hardtail and jammin’ together on the trails of Tucson!

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Stephen says:

    hooray hardtails!!!

    Like

  2. Ali says:

    Love your glasses!

    Like

  3. matt Gindlesparger says:

    Fried fish are tasty

    Like

  4. Brendan says:

    I’m with Matt on this one, I do love a good fish fry.

    Like

  5. 2greaterthan4 says:

    You know what y’all need… a place in Tucson for the winter, and a place in Idy for the summer; a hardtail for the smooth courses, a FS for the chunky stuff, a soft-tail for endurance rides; a motorcycle (or 2 or 3) for when you don’t want to pedal but still want fresh air; unlimited time to ride… hell, I could go for some of that fish. 🙂

    You and Brendan should beg/borrow/steal some dual sports and ride the divide with Dave and I this summer. Pedaling is for suckers… 😉

    -Ian

    Like

  6. Maria Rose says:

    I love your specs!

    Like

  7. Bandit says:

    Ain’t life grand?
    p.s. mmmmm fish fry…Got to get back to WI!

    Like

  8. cat morrison says:

    I love reading about your adventures, they are always so inspiring!

    Like

  9. Matt says:

    LOL – Years ago, when I was mid 20-ish…I’m sitting in a car with 3 – 60 year olds on a business trip…were’ in Dallas looking for an exit off the interstate and the old birds see the sign well before me…and I’m thinking WTF? Go to the eye Dr. next week and got my specs. Welcome to the club. Get contacts though…

    Like

  10. andy buchanan says:

    Mary I was hoping to see ya out there around Lima area this year cause I to will not be in Banff either . So that means next year maybe Kevin , Mary and Andy might be the first three entries for the T.D or G.D.R. one never knows how strong the pull is for this happening n’estce pas .

    Like

Leave a Reply

