Something old, something new…

No, there wasn’t a wedding, but the old saying – “something old, something new, something borrowed, something blue” seems to bring luck to mountain bike racing as well! I gues, when you’re riding for 12 hours, you have time to think about everything.

Yesterday was an amazing day. I don’t have a final for where I ended up overall, but I won the pro women’s category with 12 laps and beat lots of men too, which doesn’t mean much if you’re not familiar with the course. It was just over 9 miles with about 1,360 feet of elevation gain per lap. Here’s the geoladders info, but needless to say – It was a blast.

picture-1

There weren’t that many solo women, but it didn’t matter. My goal for this race was to stay on my bike for 12 hours (which I haven’t done since the divide) and thoroughly enjoy it (which I sooo did!) I had no expectations, other than that, which really kept me honest out there.

Some good friends from Big Wheel Racing came out from Bakersfield and Durango. No matter where the race is or what your fitness is, having good friends around makes all the difference! Todd also came down (rode from Idyllwild, of course) and hammered out a good number of laps on the Singlespeed Song. Also, Dave and Yumi (I like when people call her Yummi, though, as she cooks all sorts of great stuff) were there selling their super cool bike t-shirts, while Dave also put in some good hot laps on his Singlespeed.

To be modest, I put down the hammer on the first lap, and didn’t look back. I feel like I’ve got a new drive for 09 and didn’t care what anyone else was up to. My goal was to stick it to this darn course and enjoy it! I feel like I’m back and am excited more than ever for it.

jan_temecula_mfm

Something Old: lots of old gear etc, but mostly, old friends (not in age, but in the fact that these are people who stick around and are always there for you!)

Something New: Yeah, another new sponsor – I met up with Darren from Ay-up lights to pick up some new product and LOVED IT. No more winding long chords around my downtube to keep my center of gravity low because my battery is so heavey. Also, their stuff is all simple, light, and INTERCHANGEABLE! Plus, the units come in 10 different colors, so you can match your cool duds, bike or whatever (I know, it doesn’t matter because you’re using them at night.)

Something New part II: had to throw this in because it meant a lot. I got a new necklace from CarolAnn and it’s become my good luck piece of sorts. It’s a Lotus – a beautiful flower that grows from the mud and resembles a new beginning – that’s 2009 – inspiration for us all.

Something borrowed: maybe this insn’t supposed to be on the blog, but CarolAnn lent me a sports bra last time I went to visit her and it is one of those that just fit right! To be honest, it was new and didn’t fit her, but makes for a good story to tell. 🙂

Something blue: I’m not a big fan of blue, normally, but my GoreBikeWear gloves, somehow ended up blue, as well as my 2nd Giro Helmet – so I went with blue for my bar mounted Ay-Ups. Looks like blue will be my night color!

temeculajan_start

Thanks to Intense and Ay-Up for your help during the race and it was good to see you all there in full support of what we do out on these dirty trails.

So, here’s to a great start of a new year. Traditions begin anew, and friendships grow as we all cultivate what the year will be for us. Good luck to everyone in this new year and let’s all kick butt – for ourselves!

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Bandit says:

    It was fun racing with you. You’re right, we need to do that more often. Congrats now the great results. Keep it up!

    Like

  2. Conejo says:

    Mary, it was great to see you out there this weekend riding in your element. You looked good on the new bike and rode strong & smooth, even if it was a training race. 🙂

    Like

  3. Maria Rose says:

    Congratulations on your great ride!

    Like

  4. Dave says:

    Way to Rock the course.

    Like

  5. Matt says:

    Awesome work there! Thanks for sharing the pit. We all had a great time.

    Like

  6. Gyan says:

    Must feel really great! I was thinking of you as I drove through Temecula yesterday on my way to Perris for some time in the vertical wind tunnel (too many clouds to actually skydive, so this was the next best thing.)

    Like

  7. ojulius says:

    Great to see you out there rocking it on the course! Congrats on the win, and thanks for letting us crash at the pit. 🙂

    Like

  8. Ian says:

    Great job. 12 laps? sweet mother of god, that’s a lot, and I know since I’ve raced there before! Wish I could have been out there racing with ‘ya. although you would have kicked my butt. hard. 🙂

    Like

  9. You freaking Rock! You are gonna kill it this season!

    Like

    1. marymetcalf says:

      My biggest goal is to have an Über fun season, but if I can be on a couple podiums, too – that’ll be awesome. Good to hear from you Lucas.

      Like

Leave a Reply

