Pic of the Day – not for the faint of heart

This is out of chronological order, but I’ve been corresponding with Adrian, Reuben and Felix about swelling and wanted to show them this pic and video anyhow. The video was just before pulling out to Dillon, not being sure that I would be able to come back in, I decided to make a clip of what would have been my final stopping point for the race. Then I also took a pic of my feet on the camera phone from Dillon. These are not for the faint of heart. For those of you that know me, you’ll notice that my face is even puffy in the video.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Maria Rose says:

    Ouch!I can’t believe you made it after that.

    Like

  2. Brendan says:

    Wow, I love the video. Crazy stuff.
    I hope we get to ride something big together soon.

    Like

  3. Kevin Montgomery says:

    Damn, my ankles were just about as fat when I pulled the plug. It ended up swelling more over the next 24 hours for me

    Like

  4. Danielle says:

    Mary- I was hoping that you were going to be at Nationals so that I could congratulate you in person. When people tell me that they can’t imagine riding a bike for 24 hours, I have to tell them it’s nothing compared to what you did. I am still in complete awe!!!

    Like

  5. Dave Harris says:

    Those are some fine kankles. You are the most persistent person I know, I get goose bumps thinking about the resolve it took to keep going beyond that point.

    I have something in mind for you & Brendan in Oct! 🙂

    Like

  6. Mary Collier says:

    Hmmm… Dave, would that something in October require that same resolve.

    Kevin, I was able to get the swelling down quite a bit, but it was a continual struggle for the rest of the race and definitely after the race was over.

    Danielle – kick but at Nats. You’re gonna rock. Tell your crew to cheer for our guy Todd too.

    Mary

    Like

  7. ojulius says:

    I was wondering what all the swelling looked like in your legs and ankles….now I know. Ouch! I could really see the swelling in your face too. Your whole body must have felt like it was going to burst out of your skin. You are one tough cookie!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

