Thank you…Thank you…Thank you!

I’ve got a couple days before heading out towards Canada, but wanted to send out a few thanks and clear some stuff up!

First of all, my family in NM – Mom, Dad, Cindy, Cathy, Julie, James, Emmitt (and all the awesome nieces, nephews, and cousins) – you’re the best! Thank you for always being unconditionally supportive and loving. Also, Brendan’s family – thanks for allowing me to be a part of it and welcoming me. To both families, please join in on my blog. I know that many of you read it, but please be part of it. Some of you have expressed concerns that you don’t want to intrude – this blog is for everyone so please, have a seat and make yourself at home!

My office – for those of you that don’t know, I work at a boarding school here in Idyllwild in the Marketing office – when I’m not riding. Everyone in my office has been super supportive and truthfully – they take up my slack when I’m recovering from a 4 day riding binge! (especially Vance and Darren) Thank you all for welcoming me into this great office and getting excited with me for my adventures. Maniac (heehee!) has finally commented, but I want to reiterate to you all – make yourselves at home. We’ve got a long stretch here where this will be our only contact – so Join In!

Brendan – you’re the glue that holds it all together! I would be nowhere near this if it weren’t for your drive and determination and support. Thanks to all the people of Siren! 🙂

I’ve also received so much support for my racing and for this race in particular and want to thank the following sponsors/supports – we’re actually gonna make this happen – look out!

NoTubes – especially Cindy and Mike
Kenda – thanks Jim
GoreBikeWear – thanks Tiffany
SRAM/World Bicycle Relief – Craig, you’re awesome!
Magura/Syntace – thanks Justin
Carousel Design Works – thanks for all your hard work Jeff
The Path – Brian and Tani, you’ve been wonderful (hang in there, I may need you more!)
Cane Creek – especially Josh
Wabash River Racing – your support means a lot!
SPOT – it’s gonna be great Derek
Giro – Sean, I’m set!

Also, thanks to all the Siren customers and supporters who keep us alive. All of you that read my blog motivate me. I sometimes think while racing – I can’t quit, that wouldn’t make a good writeup – how can I go back and write about that!?

Many previous GDR racers and endurance racers have also answered my questions ad nauseaum and have inspired me. There are just too many of you to list, but especially all the ladies that I ride with and bounce ideas off of, thank you!

So, when I make it to Antelope Wells – I’ll raise a beer to you all! Thank you for helping me to realize a dream and motivating me to make it happen.

Mary

20 Comments Add yours

  1. Mother Bliss says:

    All the best to you on this incredible journey. Can’t wait to see the amazing pics you’re going to take! Good luck, we’ll all be rootin’ for you!

    Like

  2. Jill says:

    Good luck out there! Kill it.

    Like

  3. Chris says:

    Kick some butt, take names, and don’t look back! You’ll have so much fun, and there will be tough days, but think about how awesome it is to be able to ride your bike every day — the one your biggest fan and supporter built for you! We’re all behind you, GOOD LUCK!!

    Like

  4. ojulius says:

    Good luck to you out there!

    Like

  5. Dave says:

    Good luck, and tailwinds.

    Like

  6. LyndaW says:

    Mary,

    Have a simply fabulous adventure.

    Like

  7. Maniac says:

    Mary you are awesome. We all know you’ve got what it takes to do this ride. You’ve earned it. Enjoy it. Kick ass and enjoy every day. Racing across the country on two wheels… It doesn’t get any better than this.

    We’ll be thinking of you.

    Like

  8. sirenbicycles says:

    I’m anxious, confident, excited, nervous, and inspired by this undertaking.

    You’ll quite possibly come back a different person than the one I’ll drop off in Banff- it’s already started, as you’ve become stronger & more self-determined along the way in your preparations for this race, as well as your development as an endurance racer over the past couple years. I like it; it’s been a good ride.

    From all of us at Siren, we’re behind you!

    Like

  9. Lucas says:

    You are truly inspiring! I can not wait to enjoy this adventure with you! Tear it up and have a freaking blast!

    Like

  10. Chad says:

    Go the distance and enjoy the ride!

    Like

  11. Cellarrat says:

    see yah in banff!

    Like

  12. eric says:

    Let our people travel light and free on their bicycles — nothing on the back but a shirt, nothing tied to the bike but a slicker, in case of rain. Their bedrolls, their backpacks, their tents, their food and cooking kits…….Ed A……..Thanks for the inspiration to keep the adventure in life!!! May the trail always seem downhill! See you in Antelope Wells!

    Like

  13. Danielle says:

    Good Luck Mary! You are my hero!

    Like

  14. Mike B. says:

    Best of luck Mary! Will be looking forward to the updates.

    Like

  15. vwmomma says:

    Here MOM and DAD sit pondering what is our daughter doing now. We are both excited to see this happen for you. I guess it’s like when I used to go rapelling on the mountain, the joy of it all is utmost. Mary, have fun, kick butt, and endure!!!! Love ya lots, MOM

    Like

  16. Anonymous says:

    Wishing you the BEST on your journey from all of us in Bowman!! I am excited that you are doing this. I like to ride horses as much as you like to ride bicycles (well maybe almost as much!) but anyway you have inspired to get with the program here and I want to start riding again. Thanks Mary.

    To a safe and inspirational ride!
    Go get em!!

    Diane

    Like

  17. Cathy says:

    Heya sis. Just remember that you have what it takes. When you get tired pray for endurance cause your Heavenly Father will always be your constant companion. He brought you where you are and will lead you home. Love and prayers from Tularosa’s First Lady and Dynamic Duo. Your nieces are rootin for u.

    Like

  18. Sarah K says:

    Good luck Mary – sending you strength, endurance, sunshine, happiness and tailwinds.

    Like

  19. Carrie says:

    Mary ninja-bicyclist Collier- you are my hero. You’re going to kick ass and have an incredible adventure. I can’t wait to hear all about it. You can do it! We’re all cheering for you!

    Like

  20. Mary Collier says:

    Thanks to all of you for your amazing support!

    Like

Leave a Reply

