First 12 hour of the year

So, yesterday I savored 12 hours on my bike and it was a great day!

The first 12 hrs of Temecula went down well. The weather forecast the whole week before was daunting. We weren’t sure what to expect, but ended up getting excellent weather for almost the whole time.

My goal was to get 10 laps and try to get into a good pace and maintain consistency the whole way through. Starting out, it’s hard to reel in the reigns and pace especially with those climbs, but I knew that I had 12 hours ahead of me. It was hard not to get into the ego challenge at the beginning and I watched many of my competitors slip away up the first hill as I began my pace. This was a first for me, as all last year, I’d go out super hard in the first lap and sometimes I could maintain it, but many times it didn’t work for me.

My first 4 laps were extremely consistent – all at about an hour. The course was much faster than it was when I pre-rode it a couple of weeks ago. My goal was to pace myself at about 1:10, but even reeling in the reigns – I was pulling off a 57 minute lap! The trail was perfect from the recent rain. 10 miles of tacky, yet packed, dirt.

At 6 hours, I had 6 laps and was hoping that I’d make my goal and then one. It seemed like I was on track for 11 laps. As it got hot out though, my stomach wasn’t too happy – not to mention that I was getting tired as I’d already ridden 60 miles. It looked like I was holding a solid 2nd place, Pua had slipped away enough that she was in a solid 1st and Terri was trailing me in 3rd. The rain came in on my 9th lap and I was glad to have my raincoat with me as it cooled down a bit when the rain started.

This race was a good shake-down for the season. It’s one of the hardest courses that I’ll do all year. In my 12 hours yesterday, I climbed 15,440 feet and according to my garmin descended 15,441 (heehee.) I wish I could have pulled off 11 laps, but I raced my own race, stayed pretty consistent, and met my goal. I rode with Sean, a local adventure racer for a long time and met lots of good people out on the course. A good ways into the race I met up with our friend #002 (AKA Brett) and rode in with him then started lap 7 with him. Jason’s races are always a good time as we are getting to know so many people out there. Overall, it was a good atmosphere, nice weather, and sweet course.

My teammate Todd, took home 4th in the pro men’s field. He surprised himself since he hasn’t been riding that much (with the new addition to the family) but it wasn’t a surprise to me. He always has something in the reserve. I think it’s from the frequent rides to Hemet to carry a 50 lb bag of dogfood home in the BOB!

To top it all off – I won a Niterider Trinewt in the raffle! It was indeed a good day!

It was good to see everyone out there – now it’s time to tackle Old Pueblo – see you there!

17 Comments Add yours

  1. ojulius says:

    Wow, nice lap times, and way to go on the race! Great to hear you were doing so well. Good luck with 24HITOP. 🙂

    Like

  2. Matt McFee says:

    So you got second? Great work!!

    Like

  3. Mary Collier says:

    Yeah…no suprises in the second half. Pua kept riding and so did I. I kept 2nd, but was much closer this year than last.

    Like

  4. Sean Clancy says:

    Thanks Mary for “pacing” me. (ha!) You definitely had an 11th lap in you. You’re going to rock this season.

    Sean Clancy
    seanclancymultisport.blogspot.com

    Like

  5. Anonymous says:

    What a great course and even better pit support! I am still grinning from ridgelines and tacky single-track descents on the second half of the course. The singletrack on the top of the climb was a pleasant surprise. Even thought provoking at times. Wish I could held your pace longer on that lap. Can’t wait till they post the pictures. Rock on! #002

    Like

  6. Brendan says:

    It was great pitting for you, Todd, and #002. You guys all rocked & most importantly had a load of fun.

    #002, you’re always welcome to join us in our pit- after Rwanda Ride & this one I’m convinced you’re our good-luck charm for raffles!

    (the beers were dee-lish btw)

    Like

  7. Lucas says:

    Way to go Mary! What a great start! I bet you hammer everyone in O.P.!

    Like

  8. Cellarrat says:

    very nicely done!

    Like

  9. Namrita O'Dea says:

    congrats! good luck at OP, too.

    are you going to be at the Granny Gear race at Vail Lake? we are coming out there for it.

    Like

  10. Namrita O'Dea says:

    congrats! good luck at OP, too.

    are you going to be at the Granny Gear race at Vail Lake? we are coming out there for it.

    Like

  11. Chris says:

    Hey, congrats! What a great way to start the year! Isn’t it funny how your pre-ride is always slower, even when you’re not pushing it during the race? There’s gotta’ be some sort of x factor in there somewhere …

    Like

  12. Mary Collier says:

    Hey Nam – yeah, the bummer about that Vail race is that it’s the exact same day as another 24 hr in Idyllwild (45 minutes away!) I think they’re trying to kill each other. Anyway, the tough part about it is that i really like our Idyllwild Course better than Vail, but there might be more competition down there and the night won’t be near as cold at Vail either. So, it’s a tough call and I don’t know yet – we’ll see.

    Yeah, Lucas – I don’t want to jinx myself, but that’s what I’m aiming for!

    Like

  13. Namrita O'Dea says:

    oh i didn’t know there was that conflict! geez. well, i can see how that is a dilemma!

    Like

  14. Namrita O'Dea says:

    oh i didn’t know there was that conflict! geez. well, i can see how that is a dilemma!

    Like

  15. Matt says:

    Congrats on the showing….but Temecula has a lot of irrelevant information. The key piece of information is tri-tip. How many did you and your support team consume?

    Gotta love that tip=tip.

    Like

  16. Lucas says:

    Is it just me or does your blog change colors everyday?

    Like

  17. moonbeam says:

    Way to rock out the first race of the year! You’re my hero. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

