Seeking Artistic Input

A new year is upon us and many decisions will come with this new year. The race season is here and we will be traveling like bandits from event to event. We’ve come a long way in the past year and we’re going to do this year up right.

For starters we’re getting new ez ups for the expos (maybe I get to use one for my pit here and there too!) Brendan and I have lamented over the artwork for the ezups. We have many choices for colors and that will affect our artwork. Here are some examples of what we’re considering. Many of them are similar, but there are a few little differences within them.

The girl and waves are for the top of the ezup and the lettering is for the side. We have a few different sayings for the sides as well as a couple different layouts. Should we have the website, the handcrafted part, or Performance Art, which is kind of our tagline?

Or, does anyone have any ideas that are completely different?!

Options to think about:

1. ezup colors:
brown
beige
white – have to think about cleaning this?
black
powder blue – may also get dirty easy

2. font, logo colors
3. layout of top
4. layout of sides
5. what text to include

So, give us your opinions.





O.K. here’s another possible combo. I’m not sure if it would be too much to have the handcrafted line as well as the website, but I agree that they are both important.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. GreenLightGo says:

    Go got the beige – but pull the brown ‘siren’ from the white and use it on the beige.

    Beige will not heat up too much, will appear cleaner for longer and is a nice, earthy color that works well with the hues of blue and dark brown you show.

    Like

  2. Jeff Kerkove says:

    Go with a color that is not used by just about everyone. Keep away from black and white tents. These seem to be the generic colors offered to consumers by the tent companies. If you are going to spend the money on a killer marketing piece look at a canopy and sidewalls that are one of the following colors…
    Brown
    Beige
    Powder Blue

    Like

  3. Lucas says:

    I have to agree with greenlightgo. I think that would be a great combination. I also love the handcrafted tag-line. It is also importnant to have your website listed. Can you do both? Hope that you are getting some riding in in all this “weather”!

    Like

  4. Mary Collier says:

    I added another one based on the first few comments – keep ’em coming. Collaborative work is our best!

    Like

  5. Brendan says:

    I’m leaning toward the tan color now, for the reasons JK lists, and it’ll also illuminate nicely inside, plus it might hide wear & dirt well.

    Like

  6. Jack says:

    I’d say take out the Handcrafted part and use your web site, that’s how I stumbled onto your bikes and blog.

    Like

  7. Anonymous says:

    For what it is worth I like the “Handcrafted in…” text since I respect the craftmanship of the trade. I also imagine the Idyllwild, CA text will generate a fair amount of dialogue and has a sense of community to it that may draw in some people. I think the web address is easily located and doesn’t need to be advertised. Black, although common, is a very bold color that would stand out amongst tents and mother nature.

    How would beige canvas with black ‘Siren’ and shela and blue “Handcrafted in … ” text look?

    #002

    Like

  8. Brendan says:

    #002 raises a good point about the site being easy to find, and has some insightful sociological observations!

    Jack, I wonder if you found our site because you saw the site printed somewhere, or if you heard about the site & googled it?

    Like

  9. Dave says:

    I like brown. “Performance art” is also quite clever.

    Like

  10. Mary Collier says:

    I’m thinking that we might not always be handcrafted in “Idyllwild” so i’m leaning away from having that. Also, I think people will search for our site. I’m a fan of “Performance Art” which is a more fun way to say “handcrafted” in my opinion. To me, it denotes “work of art” which is synonymous with hancrafted!

    So, i’m thinking, beige tent with Brown girl, “Siren” in blue, and “Performance Art” in Brown also. That way we only have 2 colors on it. 3 seems to clutter it up.

    We’re off to get a quote – wish us luck?!

    Like

  11. ojulius says:

    I like your color choices, that should look really nice, and unique from the typical EZ ups you see at the events. Good luck!

    Like

  12. Matt says:

    Do you have an option of a maroon background, like the maroon Siren that you guys just built up? If I’m walking along at a race and see ez-ups everywhere in the desert – I’m not going to notice a brown tent. Black is over done. Your blue is cool though.

    Whatever the case though….you guys need a turkish rug for the floor.

    Like

  13. Brendan says:

    Turkish rug?!
    sounds heavy. 😉

    I’m leaning away from “handcrafted” too, esp as we’re starting to use more CNC machined parts, composites, etc.

    The big question is whether or not we’ll haul the giant plasma-cut sign out for the races this year, or just bolt it on the shop & call it done.

    Like

  14. Jack says:

    Brendan I believe I found it through two means, this blog was linked to someones blog over at STR. Then I lost it somehow and yahoo’d it (I don’t really use Google all that much) and now I visit this blog on a regular basis.

    Like

Leave a Reply

